top of page

ENP162->Automated Blog

Updated: Sep 18, 2018

automation in real life and blog

The goal of this project was to automate part of the portfolio/blog site. To automate the site, there are some approaches.


IFTTT

IFTTT(If This, Then That) is a website for users to add services together to create new experiences. Over 600 apps including Twitter, Google Drive could be found. Users could search for services and create chains of simple conditional statements to trigger services.



For example, there's an applet "Get an email if it will rain tomorrow". If you turn it on, you will receive an email if it will rain. It's simple to use and support many useful services such as google drive and Instagram updates notification.


Unfortunately, there's no ready-to-use applet for wix blog(which I used). Although users could create their own conditional statement applet, I decided to use wix automation. Some of the automation tools are easier using wix.com because wix provides it when you start setting, such as Instagrams photos display and updates. Users could also customize the layout, font, and location to those apps.



wix.com

wix.com is a website that allows users to create a website through their online editing tool. Users may add different functions through plug-ins and setting. Wix also has powerful automation function. It is consists of the trigger, action, and timing.





I create a trigger once visitor signs up to my site, wix will automatically send an email to visitor to say hi. There're also some ready-to-use automation recommendations such as Instagram feed, LinkedIn info share. I also added quick apps about visitors analytics and instagram feed.


Summary

Speaking of an automated blog, first thing comes to my mind is auto blogging, like the robot is writing for you. Maybe I should look into that. I hope in the future, when I uploaded my class notes and some keywords, there would be a perfect learning blog wrote about this class. Some related research and cutting-edge technologies should be searched and added to the blog. So that I can enjoy my time doing something else.





Comments


bottom of page