top of page

UI for The Watch™Website

Developed two alternative conceptual models for the design; the website should guide users through the process of identifying smart watches that will best meet their needs and preferences.

User research

Users of the smartwatch website could be categorized into two groups.

The first group does not have too much in mind about what they want exactly. They might know which color or brand they are looking for but not sure about other features. The second user group might have heard of smartwatch before. They did some research about smartwatch market or individual Smartwatch. They are looking for something specific.


According to the user research and requirement of the watch company, I did a decide-convince-action chart. Using this strategy, I could not only have high page views numbers but also profit from our sponsors. Depends on different users, I developed two different homepages to start our websites and different navigations to guide through this process.


Alternative Models

My homepages have different designs for different user groups. I design two navigation bars with different sequence but same content. I identify primary functions and features for the websites. Then I have corresponding navigations. Especially, I have a quick compare function on the navigation bar. The user could easily see and found items they need.




For user group one, I have quick access to the question list. Start with a match list could help those users have some idea about what they need. With a swipe down tips, the user could easily interact with the website, swipe down to see recommend links or blogs.



For user group two, I focus on information access rather than find best match entry. I list popular top three blogs on the left, which could show selected when you move the mouse over the picture.



Design Details

As for color selection, I decided to use a neutral color, brown. Brown could give the user a feeling of unbiased and honest. Also, some platinum and eerie black could provide a sense of fashion and high tech.


I add a filter to the showing list, in which could compare different features and hide what users don’t interested. There is also an option to reevaluating or lock the watch section so that user could customize their list. In this way, users could save time and have more opportunities for purchasing the watch. The user could delete or add next watch on the list. They could see every detail information such as match percentage and ranking.



For the footer, I list brand-related information and contact. This formal layout could also help to create a sense of professional and responsible. I assume the website need subscribe functions for more blog updates, so I put the subscribe function in the footer also.




The interfaces leave the brand in the top left corner, where users would look at first. Brand shows in the footer as well.This design focus on users’ feeling and experience. Every page has search-button to work efficiently, as well as the help-button. In this way, the users wouldn't feel like under pressure or cureless search everywhere.





Comments


bottom of page